You are currently browsing the tag archive for the ‘Justin Bieber’ tag.

In keeping with our policy of vigilance, we recently have found another attack targeting Justin Bieber’s Facebook page.  If you recall from last week’s Top 10 list, Justin Beiber’s Facebook page achieved the top spot in the Dangerous category and the seventh spot in the Spamiest category.  To better acquaint you with the threat, we’ve broken down what happens.

Here we see some “Breaking News”:

Apparently, Justin Beiber has been caught red-handed! Quick, click “subscribe.”

Uh, that’s not what we were expecting, but never mind that right now. Onwards!

There we go! Now we can watch our video.

Wait a minute! Does that say YouTube? We could have seen this (shaky) video by simply going directly to YouTube. What was all that messing around with permissions?

And just look at what this app has done to our wall.

Spam. In our name. Bad app, no treat.

The moral of this story is, never allow an app more permission than it should logically need. All this app claimed it was going to do was show us a video, so why would it need permission to post to our wall, access our data anytime, or manage our pages?

If you or someone you know has fallen victim to this app or one of the many others like it, you should revoke the app’s permissions. To do this, go to “Account>Privacy Settings”. Under “Applications and Websites,” click “Edit your settings.” Then click “Remove unwanted or spammy applications.” Finally, click the little “x” by the app you want to remove and confirm your desire to remove it by clicking the blue “Remove” button in the box that pops up.

And if you really must see that video of Justin Beiber kissing some girl…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyRA2xyK1e8

Knock yourself out.